DEV Community

Cover image for Is Remote Work Here to Stay?
Jimmy McBride
Jimmy McBride Subscriber

Posted on

Is Remote Work Here to Stay?

Remote work has changed how developers and engineers approach their jobs, but now things are shifting back. Major companies like Amazon recently announced that, starting in January 2024, employees will be required to return to the office five days a week. Similarly, Elon Musk has already made it clear that in-office work is mandatory at both X and Tesla. These companies argue that collaboration thrives best in person.

But for many of us, remote work offered more than just flexibility—it boosted productivity and created a healthier work-life balance. Is this shift back to the office justified, or is it just old-school thinking clashing with modern realities?

What do you think?

  • Do you think remote work is here to stay, or are we heading back to full-time office life?
  • What’s your take on the growing push for in-office work again?
  • What are your pros and cons of remote vs. office work?

Let’s hear your thoughts!


I’d love to continue the conversation with like-minded folks on my Discord server. It’s a chill community full of people who love tech, coding, and helping each other out. If you enjoy discussions like these, or just want to hang out with cool, supportive people, join the conversation here!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mikeycerna profile image
Mike Cerna

May depend on what your role is, I guess. In my case, as a PM that works more with people from other countries or areas outside the main office hq, remote work is better for me not only because I can do other things in the time I used to take for cooking, transportation or getting ready. I just go to the office when I'm bored at home or when I want do a full-day sync with my Team and, sometimes, to share a happy hour after office :P

On the other hand, if your role is more realted and dependant of people in the same office (I see partners that are looking for other people during the whole day to ask or clarify some things), you probably need to be at the office most of the week (along with other persons).

Remote work also requires discipline and self-control to handle your working hours, connection time and availability appropriately, otherwise your bosses will end up making you return to the office asap.

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Yeah, I think this is a really solid and grounded perspective. I don't think remote will vanish, but I don't suspect it will ever be as wide spread and common as it once was. Especially for software engineers.