DEV Community

Joseph Jude
Joseph Jude

Posted on

Mastering sales as a CTO

Read the full article at my site

Two years back, I became a CTO of an offshore IT services company. Part of the job is to get on sales calls to build trust in the minds of prospects to do business with us.

When I started attending sales calls, I thought I could just say we are a well established IT services company and prospects will just sign-up for our services. How naive!

Now I prepare relentlessly. Preparation builds confidence and confidence wins trust. I prepare by asking questions. Here are some questions that help me prepare for sales calls.

  • What are we selling?
  • How are we different?
  • What are the objections?
  • Have we practiced together?
  • Who is the prospect?
  • Do we have examples?
  • What can go wrong?

Once I'm prepared, I am ready for the calls. I take a note and a pen with me for calls. As the call proceeds, I take notes. I listen for signals. I scribble anything that will help me during the course of the call.

After every call, I write notes about the call. I note down what went well as well as what went wrong.

The more we prepare, play, and retrospect together, we get better together.

When we strive together, we thrive together. And then we become lucky. Because one-half of life is luck; the other half is preparation.

Top comments (0)