DEV Community

Dr Rev J Kirchartz
Dr Rev J Kirchartz

Posted on • Originally published at jkirchartz.com on

The Most Innovative Checkout Form Ever

I don’t know if you’re ready for this - it might blow your mind…<!--more-->

  • Name: [Full Name (as seen on card)]
  • Billing Address: [Full Address]
  • Shipping Address (if different): [Full Address]
  • Credit Card #: [can’t you guess?]
  • CCV: [verification # from the back of the card]

Kablooie! That’s all you need! Seriously - Don’t take 6 pages and 23 forms - just get the sale & be done with it! One field is more than enough for each type of information, if you need it split out you can parse it on the backend (We have the technology), it doesn’t have to be a front-end issue. You can even help the user input this information in the appropriate format if you want, just make sure you account for all possibilities (i.e. full zipcode: #####-####) Don’t leave room for doubt, nobody has time for that, so don’t forget to always be closing!

This post was originally published on jkirchartz.com

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
maruru profile image
Marco Alka

I don't trust you enough to give you my credit card info. I want to checkout with Paypal.
Also I want the order confirmation via email.
Oh, btw, did you remember to somehow extract my country from the address? Because you will have to pay the international shipping fee yourself if you forget to add it to my amount to pay during checkout.
The package you send will have to go through customs, so I need to tell you to add the bill on the outside via a comment field.
And customs might need my phone number.

As you can see, providing a minimum amount of fields can also be bad UX. I'd go insane without those fields, because it would mean I had to write a mail - or more realistically, I would not buy stuff from you at all. Even if I'd live in the same country as you.