DEV Community

Juan Burgos
Juan Burgos

Posted on • Updated on

Micro-Post: End of Year 2024 Message

Well, 2024 was a bit of an insane year. Did a lot of personal learning as part of my developer journey. My hope is that I can continue learning more in the coming year and document my journey better, mainly to help keep me accountable to myself :P

With the end of the year just around the corner, I wanted to end the year with a cute little C++ program :D

$ cat main.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdint>

// I'm going to define my own shorter integral types!
using U8 = uint8_t; // unsigned char
using U64 = uint64_t; // unsigned long long

// This was something new I learned the other week :D
// https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/user_literal
consteval U8 operator ""_uc(const U64 value) {
  return static_cast<U8>(value);
}

int main() {
  std::cout
    << 67_uc
    << 43_uc
    << 43_uc
    << " is awesome! See you all next year!"
    << std::endl;
  return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

$ g++ main.cpp -o main.exe && ./main.exe
C++ is awesome! See you all next year!
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)