DEV Community

Cover image for How to Write Down Your Own Retrospective of 2023
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Posted on • Updated on

How to Write Down Your Own Retrospective of 2023

Some smart people here do it.
And reflecting on what happened last year sounds like a great starting point to think about what a success could look like to YOU in 2024.

But that also seems like a daunting task right ?

Don't worry, I have a list of great, open questions, and all you have to do is to answer the first one, then the next, etc

The 15 Small Questions About Big Things

In Markdown format for your copy & paste pleasure.

## Without thinking too much about it, how was 2023 for me ?
✍🏻

## What is my retrospective of 2023, quarter by quarter ?
🏔 January to March ?
🪴 April to June ?
🌊 July to September ?
🍂 October to December ?

## What are the big life lessons I want to remember from 2023 ?
✍🏻

## What makes me most proud about 2023 ?
✍🏻

## How am I different today compared to one year ago ?
✍🏻

## What projects and goals didn't I accomplish in 2023 ? Why ? Are they still relevant in 2024 ?
✍🏻

## Am I better aligned with whom I really want to be ?
✍🏻

## What do I want to improve most in 2024 ?
✍🏻

## For whom do I feel most grateful in 2023 ?
✍🏻

## What brought me energy and joy in 2023 ?
✍🏻

## What consumed my energy in 2023 ?
✍🏻

## What was I afraid of doing in 2023 ?
✍🏻

## About what do I feel most confident right now ?
✍🏻

## What was my best failure this year ? What do I learn from that ?
✍🏻
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

FAQ

Q: Have you done it yourself ?
Sure, but in French, and translating the questions is lazier than translating the answers.
Ma rétrospective 2023

Q: I am too shy to write down publicly, what can I do ?
Write the answers down just for yourself.
Writing is its own reward.

Q: I have written my answers on DEV.to or on my blog, can I post the link in the comments ?
Sure, please do !

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

Si jamais j'ai des lecteurs français ici, voici les questions en VF

Quel bilan spontané je fais de mon année ?
Quelle rétrospective de l’année 2023 par trimestre...
   🏔 Janvier à mars 2023 ?
   🪴 Avril à juin 2023 ?
   🌊 Juillet à septembre 2023 ?
   🍂 Octobre à décembre 2023 ?
Les grandes leçons de vie que je retiens de 2023 ?
De quoi suis-je læ plus fièrę de mon année 2023 ?
En quoi suis-je différentę par rapport à 2022 ?
Quels projets (ou objectifs) n’ai-je pas accomplis en 2023 ? Pourquoi ? Sont-ils toujours d’actualité en 2024 ?
Est-ce que je me suis rapprochéę de ce que je veux être par rapport à il y a un an ? 
Que vais-je chercher à améliorer en 2024 ?
Pour quoi ai-je le plus de reconnaissance/gratitude à la fin de cette année 2023 ?
Comment puis-je décrire mon année en quelques mots clés/une phrase ?
Qu’est ce qui m’a généré de l’énergie (et de la joie) ?
Qu’est ce qui m’a pris de l’énergie ?
Qu’est-ce qui m’a fait peur ?
De quoi suis je læ plus confiante en ce moment ?
Quel a été mon plus grand échec de l’année ? Qu’est- ce que j’en retire ?
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
pixelrella profile image
Pixelrella

Awesome! Thank you so much for sharing this list.

Though I am not quite sure I remember what happened last January to March 😅 This list gets me digging for sure.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

"I don't remember" is a valid answer, three are no wrong answers ;)

Collapse
 
pixelrella profile image
Pixelrella

That's a good mindset!