DEV Community

Joanne
Joanne

Posted on

Day 18 - Redesigning My Portfolio

Yesterday I completed a redesign of my portfolio. The concept was to play with colors but maintain a straightforward approach to the UI of page.

I wanted to build a sense of depth and movement with colors. So I literally used an animated gradient background for the landing intro section!

Intro

You can check out the rest of my portfolio here. Or you can enjoy the gif below! I look forward to adding more applications that come out of this 30 challenge to my list of projects!

portfolio gif

What I Learned

Everytime I build wireframes for my portfolio then start coding, it doesn't exactly end up being the original design! It's the one ongoing project that I let it take me where it ends up going.

How This Will Help Me

I think the design reflects a little bit more of who I am, and helps tells a better story of my background with the About Me page.

Onto the next challenge!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

Every time I build wireframes for my portfolio then start coding, it doesn't exactly end up being the original design!

I redesigned my portfolio few months ago too. I know such a similar experience. It took me more effort in CSS styling. Meanwhile not to make the CSS file messy.

Collapse
 
joanne profile image
Joanne

I end up littering my CSS files with commented code because I tend to change my mind along the way and have to remind myself to update elements because of my changes.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low • Edited

If you have a mockup, you should stick with it. If not, you never get things done. If you don't have the idea, go mind-shopping at Pinterest would help.