DEV Community

Cover image for My Hacktoberfest Journey
Jobe Dylbas
Jobe Dylbas

Posted on • Updated on

My Hacktoberfest Journey

It's been many years that I have the will to participate in the Hacktoberfest and I finally did it, but it wasn't always like this.

Despite knowing GitHub flow, some popular frameworks and have a job in the technology area. In the past few years, I always felt not enough, or not knowing enough to be able to participate in the Hacktoberfest.

But, in this crazy year of 2020, stuck at home only with the company laptop and I was thinking?

"What the hell, I gonna try it, I'm bored anyway."

The first thing I did was to search some repositories with cool ideas and simple tasks to do like fix some documentation or add elements on a JSON file. These tasks seem too easy, useless, and even unchallenging, but I believe that these little bricks that we add made a huge difference in the top view. In addition, these simple tasks push us in confidence to contribute.

After that and feeling more adventurous, I tried to search for small tasks but a little more complex. So one of my PR, I developed a feature to Finish a lesson early in the LibreLingo, and it was so cool, the project is awesome and so beautiful.

I hope to make more contributions to open-source projects in the next days of Hacktoberfest!

The Hacktoberfest is one of the best events to meet (in this case virtually) more people, learn about projects, frameworks, open-source culture, and so on.

So, have a great Hacktoberfest, stay safe, and wash your hands. 👏

Top comments (0)