DEV Community

Joseph Ngigi
Joseph Ngigi

Posted on

Stuck on updating start menu link

I recently came across problem while installing MYSQL on my Windows(I am on windows 11), where I got stuck in the step, it could not resolve updating start menu link. I found this post on Stackoverflow.

If you have troubles in while on Windows 11, here is a guide to solve the problem

  1. Go to the control panel, and find the Windows Tools. IF you want to easily find the make sure to sort using small icons
    Windows tools

  2. On windows tools, scroll and find the Services
    Services

  3. Once in services, Scroll through and find MYSQL services for my case I am using the latest version so it is MYSQL80. Right click on it and go to Properties
    MySQL service

  4. On properties, click on Log On tab, choose Local System Account and click on apply.
    Log On

  5. Go run the MYSQL installer and MySQL from the start and re-configure the MYSQL server. This worked on my side.
    My SQL installer

  6. Remember to go back to step 4 and choose the default This Account. You can now enjoy MYSQL from the Workbench or the MySQL Shell

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Hi what you also might want to try in the future is Docker/Podman.

And try to run MySQL in a container, this way you have it separated and don't need to fiddle with your own Windows install to make everything work.

The downside is a small performance loss, but I would take that any day.

Collapse
 
joe_jngigi profile image
Joseph Ngigi

Sure I think I will try this on docker. I had not though about that