DEV Community

Joel Bennett
Joel Bennett

Posted on

Hi, I'm Joel

I got into computers to make video games when I was in high school. Now I'm a full-time business software developer. How'd that happen? :P

I got my first taste of programming with Visual Basic 6, then C++ (with Direct X 6, 7, and 8!). I attended NAIT (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology) where I learned .Net and fell in love with C#. I went on to do a bachelors at the University of Lethbridge, worked full time doing .Net app development for the oil and gas industry for a few years, then went back to the University of Lethbridge for a Masters in Computer Science.

I'm currently working full time doing Python/Django development in the agriculture industry in Lethbridge, Alberta. In my spare time, I occasionally play with ASP.Net Core, and aspire to do great things.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
walker profile image
Walker Harrison

Hey Joel,

Thanks for the thoughtful intro. Glad to see you've got a full-time dev position...but don't forget to save some time for those video games too!
Anyway, check out the Python tag for articles you might find relevant, and also consider contributing to it!

Walker
dev.to