DEV Community

Cover image for Connecting to your Homelab without a VPN, SSH keys, or Public VP's using AWS Systems Manager
Joe Terlecki
Joe Terlecki

Posted on

Connecting to your Homelab without a VPN, SSH keys, or Public VP's using AWS Systems Manager

The pandemic has made me enter the joys of home lab. I work daily as a cloud infrastructure engineer by day, so learning the home lab stuff has been rewarding. In addition, I have been trying to incorporate my cloud knowledge and skills into my lab environment by making a hybrid cloud approach.

I wanted to connect to my home lab remotely, and my cloud expertise makes me cringe at VPNs even though they have their place. It's just not "Cloud-native However, and I learned you could service in AWS to connect to private instances without the need for ssh keys, public infrastructure, or VPNs. There is a service called Systems Manager that offers a service "Sessions Manager".

I created a tutorial on how to set this up if anyone is interested.

https://youtu.be/Lm9afXJA7Q0

Top comments (0)