DEV Community

Johannes Dienst
Johannes Dienst

Posted on

Being a Developer Advocate: Week 10

This week it was conference time again. The last two days I spend all over the place. But let me structure that for this post ☺️

Conference ct

This is a front-end-centric conference with lots of niche talks. I could not follow some talks because of that 😅

Interestingly it had three talks and one keynote about accessibility. This seems to gain traction in Germany. I learned a lot about how to not use Personas to model your audience. Check her webpage out!

Then I learned a ton about keyboard accessibility from Tanja Ulianova.

And after my talk Lenz Weber-Tronic, the one with the geekiest name I know of explained to me how he uses the accessibility tree to automate his tests with Playwright.

My favourite talk was from Ulrike Rausch about Fonts. She showed how she creates fonts and what is possible. The examples where nothing short of amazing!

Getting into Giving Feedback

Most often Developer Advocates are the ones giving talks at conferences. At least that is what you see. While this is one part there is an equally important one.

Advocating for developers using your product internally!

I am getting into this by testing functionality, giving feedback on documentation, and helping our community out.

Sometimes this is funny, sometimes it is tedious because you try to figure out stuff and the documentation confuses you. Then you start to write a blog post explaining how this feature can help users to achieve more. Only to find out that it does not work as you understood earlier 🤓

Either way, it feels great to be involved in so many different things!

Top comments (0)