DEV Community

Johannes Dienst
Johannes Dienst

Posted on

Being a Developer Advocate: Week 17

I am on it again: Talks with livecoding 😁

And basically that was all I was doing this week... and some number crunching for DevRel metrics... and sorting out documentation again.

But I will just leave the learnings here for my talk preparations as the talk and livecoding went very well imho. They also took 90% of my week πŸ™ƒ

Learnings From Preparing and Giving a Talk with Livedemos

  • Be authentic and honest. Admit if you do not know something. Nothing worse than a speaker who can not admit, that an answer is out of his knowledge in my opinion.
  • I spent an unproportionate amount of time (2 days) into nailing down every livedemo I would show. This made them more or less bulletproof. But also gave me the confidence to know how to fix problems that came up.
  • Be ok if something does not work out. It is ok, it happens to the best. Laugh and explain what should have happened, then move on.
  • Reboot your system before the talk resolve strange system issues
  • OBS on Mac Silicone causes weird system crashes sometimes πŸ₯Ά

Top comments (0)