DEV Community

Cover image for My 2 cents to people starting in tech
Kenny John Jacob
Kenny John Jacob

Posted on

My 2 cents to people starting in tech

Here are some things I wish I knew when I was starting out in my tech journey. If you are a beginner or even someone with experience like me, these will accelerate your growth.

Just get started

If you're just starting out, find something that interests you and JUST START LEARNING.

Getting started is often the biggest hurdle and is the first thing stopping you from achieving your dreams. If you don't know where to start, see what others are sharing on Twitter and see what interests you.

If you can't figure out the path to take, then ask someone more experienced than you. Then do it!

Don't compare your start to someone else's finish

If you're just starting out, you might be amazed at the awesome content that people are sharing. Trust me, even I and many others admire the quality of some of the content on Twitter. You might even think, "Oh I'll never be this good".

You should see it differently. Take the content as an inspiration, something to aspire to, rather than feeling overwhelmed. Understand that this takes time and practice. Don't let this stop you from starting out. You should only compare yesterday's you and today's you.

What's more, I have noticed that these awesome people will share their tips and even help guide you in doing the same!

"Am I better than who I was yesterday?" should be your motto.

Keep practicing, keep learning

Almost all the people you see doing great things have been at it for a while.

You learn new concepts by first coming across it, then understanding it, and then practicing it. Reading a book, or watching a video tutorial is only a quarter of the job done. Getting your hands dirty and trying it out yourself is where the real growth happens.

There will be frustrations. You will feel tired and stuck. If you feel overwhelmed, just call it a day and try again the next day. If you're still stuck, reach out to someone for help.

Show off your work

Whenever you make something, share it with others. It doesn't have to be perfect.

If you're horrified at that thought, trust me, I too was when I started out. I was insecure and afraid to share anything I did. Over time my life experiences changed my thoughts. Also the enormous support that the tech community shows on twitter is a major factor.

Just start simple, share your ideas and creations. You will get feedback from more experienced developers and that is precious advice to help you grow.

Connect with people

Connect with people on a deeper level through direct messages. If you're introverted like me, this is harder said than done. In the past I used to have a hard time saying hi and talking to strangers.

In order to overcome this, I decided I would DM everyone who connects with me! I have talked to the most amazing people from all walks of life and backgrounds. Some were just starting out and asked for advice. Some were more experienced than me and taught me things I didn't know.

These "strangers" turn into friends, and last a lifetime. Overall, you learn a lot from everyone. About life, about tech, etc.

Closing thoughts

When I was growing up, I was interested in tech, but didn't have much guidance. I was very shy and never got the courage to ask for help from anyone, or thing about my learning as a long term investment. So my pursuits were all random, and didn't amount to much.

The twitter community is GOLD. It is what I wish I had when I was starting out. That is one of the reasons I try to help everyone starting out. I see the potential in everyone and it reminds me of young me. Use this community to your advantage.

And, generally, have fun. Tech is fun, tinkering is fun, and doing these with caring and passionate people by your side is even more fun. In this time of COVID, we don't have the option to hang out with friends. Treat this as your personal friends circle. Sharing and caring for each other, helping each other grow.


Originally posted on my blog

Until next time, stay safe.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
rangercoder99 profile image
RangerCoder99

I personally not a fan of social media sites they can also be mine fields, next to the clearly time traps that suck up your time there is also the insane change for getting attack for giving your personal opinion if it not match with the popular one! It can be a great place or it can be your worst nightmare!

Collapse
 
johnjacobkenny profile image
Kenny John Jacob

You are right, social media can become a huge time sink, and not to mention a great source of stress, especially if you compare yourself with all the other amazing things people do online.

But used in the right way, there is a lot of value being added, and after starting with this journey last year, I feel I have grown a lot! ❀️

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
johnjacobkenny profile image
Kenny John Jacob

Thanks for sharing your thought. I have shared a few things from my personal experience, and that might not be the perfect fit for everyone πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
shikkaba profile image
Me • Edited

I think I mustve been tired or something anyway because this doesn't read as a listicle. Sooooooo... Comment deleted since it kinda isn't accurate. 😬

Thread Thread
 
johnjacobkenny profile image
Kenny John Jacob

No problem πŸ™‚ Thank you for taking the time to read through my writing. It means a lot πŸ™‚