DEV Community

JonathanMahendran
JonathanMahendran

Posted on

Introduction to Open Source

Hi everyone! My name is Jonny Mahendran and I am hoping that I can learn how to successfully contribute to Open Source Projects while learning how to properly use GitHub for various updates.

The main reason I wanted to take this course was to be able to properly use Git functions and simultaneously be able to work on a open source project of my own to gain experience and adapt to it. In most projects I have done I have completed them based on a standard and I haven't been able to work on a project that interests me, I hope in this course I will be able to find a passion for a new coding language and work with projects that peak my interest.

During this term I want to accomplish learning a new language, Python is widely used and is a skilled asset that I would like to dive into and learn. I believe working on a open source project will help learn the basics of Python as I will be able to practice on a project that interests me. My interest in projects are mainly data type projects my previous employment I was working with large scale data and using R programming to modify and create reports to see trends in the data, I have grown to find a passion in this and would love learn Python to better grow my knowledge on this.

The GitHub repo I researched and found was a repo that utilizes UI to create code changes based on user bug reports https://github.com/sweepai/sweep. This feature works with small errors and is aimed to eliminate developers from opening tickets that involve small bug fixes or refractors. I know that learning a new language often has many set backs and learning curves. After finding this project I believe I can learn some basics of Python while also utilizing UI.

See you in the next post!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

Good luck!