DEV Community

Jonathon Ringeisen
Jonathon Ringeisen

Posted on

Advice on rolling out new features.

Hey everyone! I started a Saas business 2 years ago which I built from the ground up using Laravel and a handful of other technologies. I recently released a feature that required me to get rid of the old feature and I received a little bit of pushback from some of my users.

How do I allow the user to access both the old and the new feature without spinning up a beta version on another server? You know when a big company is pushing an update and there's usually a notification that says "Want to try the new version?" and you click it and "poof!" you're on the same site but a new version and you can switch back, how is this accomplished?

I would love to be able to implement something like this going forward in order to offer a better user experience for my users.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
pankajtanwarbanna profile image
Pankaj Tanwar • Edited

I can think of having a "version" for any user and have the APIs according to that. You will need to have both code anyways!

Collapse
 
rramname profile image
Rohit Ramname

Sounds like perfect use case for a concept called "feature flags".

martinfowler.com/articles/feature-...

Collapse
 
jringeisen profile image
Jonathon Ringeisen

Great article! This is perfect for what I'm trying to accomplish.