DEV Community

Cover image for Everything count
Julia Barcelos
Julia Barcelos

Posted on

Everything count

Have you ever thought your old experiences don’t have value anymore?

I’m here to prove the opposite.

I’m chemist as some of you already knows, I’ve been working all my professional life in the pharmacy industry.
I'm used to think that what I've learned and knew about my old career doesn’t matter anymore, but I was acting like a fool person and I can prove it!

I mentioned before about a book who I’m reading, called “Clean Code”.
I was reading and found this awesome page which talked about that and show me How I was definitely wrong.

The book mentioned the 5S system and it’s a universal communication, everyone who worked in the industry knows how important it is to organize all your work place. So everyone could be able to find everything that they want without hassle.

Image description

This article, which talked about 5S, can be useful if you need some introduction about this topic.
5S system

Who can imagine this could be counted as a hard skill to be a programmer?

Yes, in fact, is.
I've figured out I already have this s ability. Also, I know what it is good for and why it is so important.

And do you know why this is important?

If not, don't worry, I can be able to explain it based on a little routine simulation.


          Please follow my lead...
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Can you imagine yourself open a repository and finding all the documents totally unorganized and shuffled?

You just can't differentiate between pages and components.
Imagine a login page in the same place with an API request... You might think, what does API request?

The names of all these files doesn't tell you anything, you spend like 15 minutes just to find yourself in the code and still haven't found which is the main page yet.

Great... Now you finally found a router file, so you could start to figure out how many pages this project has and how all this works together. From the time you've started till now, that took you about 35 minutes of work day.

In the middle of that bad situation, you’ve just realized you have a meeting schedule and you might have to go back to the code later because, in fact, you didn't start your task yet.
So, for don't spend almost an hour again, you create a folder and files structure to organize this repository, but guess what?

When finally get done arranging all those files and folders, and starting to understand how all these files connect to each other you’ve just reached lunchtime. Could you imagine being in this situation and don’t feeling disgusted, stressed and tired from correcting bad code and bad work?

If you have some notion about 5s this never will be happing with your projects.

So, if someone else gets to work on your project those kinds of problems, cited above, just won't happen.


Stay strong, you and I are qualified to take good job offers.


I'll continue look at my previous qualities for this new career and share my experiences with you all, maybe this will help you.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
caiovinicius42 profile image
Caio Vinicius

Olá, gostei muito do post! Você estudou na escola de programação trybe? Passei no processo seletivo deles, porém fiquei com um dúvida se realmente vale a pena.

Collapse
 
jubarcelos profile image
Julia Barcelos

Oi Caio, estudo lá ainda. Estou no último projeto de front-end. Quase 50% do curso concluído. Se quiser podemos marcar e conversar um pouco sobre minha experiência. =)