DEV Community

Julien Simon
Julien Simon

Posted on • Originally published at julsimon.Medium on

Video: Using Amazon CodeWhisperer to write Hugging Face code

Following my test of Github Copilot, I was curious how Amazon CodeWhisperer would perform on the same example. So I gave it a try!

In a nutshell, things didn’t go well. I found the service slow, and most of the prompts it generated were irrelevant. It also struggled to keep generating additional lines of code. Failing to trigger on copy-pasted prompted was very annoying (probably an issue with the AWS extension for VS Code).

Unlike Copilot, I wouldn’t use CodeWhisperer to get real work done. The service is still in preview at the time of recording, and one can only hope that it will get much better over time. I’ll give another try when it becomes generally available.

Top comments (0)