DEV Community

Cover image for The beauty of simplicity
Jon
Jon

Posted on

The beauty of simplicity

image credit: nintendo.com

Im watching the TV series “Halt and Catch Fire”📺, and there is an episode featuring the classic Nintendo game Duck hunt🦆🎮, that caught my interest. This was a game I played in my childhood, and I asked myself how I would make the game today from a technical point of view. It probably would involve camera, computer vision and machine learning to determine if you aimed on a target with the gun. However, there were some constraints back then, so I searched online how they did it:

When you press the trigger of the gun, the game screen briefly goes black. Then, each target is displayed as a white box against this black background, one after the other, for just a split second. The gun has a light sensor, and if this sensor detects the bright light from one of these white boxes when it is displayed, the game registers it as a hit.

Sometimes the best way is to keep things simple and effective, even if im surrounded by complicated technology.

Top comments (0)