DEV Community

kaelscion
kaelscion

Posted on • Updated on

December Project Accountability: Rizzo's Alpine-Python Containers

So, Week 1 of my December MVP challenge is complete and I have met the desired goals! If you don't know about my self-imposed challenge, why I'm doing it, and what the project is, check out my first post about it here.

Thanks especially to @jess for flat out asking what my week one goals were as that kept me focused. The goals for this week were to build out the two docker images that would be needed for the key back-end functions that will be used by my service. While this process was trivial, the goal of making the images as efficient and fast as possible helped me really research and narrow down which base image to use, as well as which dependencies were truly needed and which could be eliminated. Thanks so much to those involved so far!

Week two's goals are to build out the front end and the web server images. While both back-end images were pretty straightforward as they relied on the same base image, next week will be a bit tougher. If anybody has any suggestions as to their favorite Gatsby.js and/or Nginx images, please leave them in the comments. I'm starting to get pretty excited about what will come from this little challenge and look forward to sharing the final product with you all come January 1!

Top comments (0)