DEV Community

Karoline
Karoline

Posted on • Updated on

Want to be my mentor?

I'm a newly graduated boot camper who just landed my first developer job. I'm working on an App in React Native and I'm trying to understand other people's code.

I'm wondering if there is anyone out there who's interested in being my mentor?
What I'm looking for is a bit of guidance in React Native and some advice on how to structure React Native projects. If you have knowledge in Redux that would be great.

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
rickdelpo1 profile image
Rick Delpo • Edited

As a long time mentor myself, I do not think u are ready for a mentor yet. Ur learning curve is most important right now and u should learn as much as u can by yourself. Almost everything is free out there. Learn to research. My biggest issue is that a mentor may steer u down a bad path or limit ur studies. As a result u can end up wasting a lot of time before realizing that a DIY approach is much better.

I will never mentor a rank beginner because I am specialized like most everyone is. Someone will come to me with a specific issue for mentoring. Mentors who claim to know everything only know a very little bit about each topic.

Collapse
 
rconr007 profile image
rconr007

I agree with Rick. Also you run the risk of only learning what that person knows, and how they think. Which will impede your learning and journey. We are all different and learn at certain rates and understand things at a different pace. You should learn, research and DIY as much as possible and when you think you have exhausted your limits then seek for mentorship. You will be surprised at how much you really know. And perhaps challenge your mentors opinions which would lead to a much better dialog and understanding of terms.

Collapse
 
hussam22 profile image
Hussam-22

Hello Karoline,

I advise you to take a look at this course on Udemy, it has a deep explanation about redux which helped me understand how it works.

udemy.com/share/101Wby3@NU3gcaHlrg...

I dont advise having a mentor to tell you the best practice of building something right away as there is a great deal from building simething on your own first, you need to understand the things that makes your head spin (like why this component is rendering twice when it should not)

If you need a temporary mentor for your current project to meet your dead lines and impress your bosses thats ok, but as I said you are your own mentor at this stage

Good luck in your career πŸ˜€

Collapse
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

I thought it was common to have a mentor at your first dev job. A more experienced developer from within your dev team.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡

It is, it just depends on the company.
You can send me a message (through dev.to or through linkedin which is at my profile) with detailed questions and I can take a look at it as soon as possible :)

Thread Thread
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

Wow thank you! Very grateful for that. Speak soon.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

I like to help other people, but would not have time to do that, being a mentor. Do you work in a team on a project? There definitely you should not be the only one working with this, in my opinion. At least they should not leave you alone with this, you are not an "expert" yet. But anyway, is this remote work as a freelancer? Just for my curiousity.

Collapse
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline • Edited

Not a freelancer.

Collapse
 
peerreynders profile image
peerreynders

The typical advice is to ask questions on the appropriate discord channel:

In terms of Redux I've found Mark Erikson's Blog to be quite useful. Article's like Why React Context is Not a "State Management" Tool (and Why It Doesn't Replace Redux) are a gold mine.

Thread Thread
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

Thank you for that! πŸ™

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

If I understand correctly it is less about general knowledge, but more about advanced stuff regarding React?

Thread Thread
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

Yes for me it is quite advanced. I have a basic knowledge of React from my education and have built about 25 projects. But they were never this size.

Collapse
 
etampro profile image
Edward Tam

I think a good mentor is supposed to do just that - teaching how to fish instead of feeding a fish for once.

Collapse
 
abhishekpatel946 profile image
Abhishek Patel

Try to read from official docs or you like watch videos just search into YouTube there are lots of youtubers are great explained on redux.

Try to make some project with your own using redux or context api.

Collapse
 
daxtersky profile image
Miko

Hi Karoline, if you will be interested in Angular, Vue or plain JavaScript I'd gladly help. Spend a little while on Redux too.

Collapse
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

I want to improve my React /ReactNative skills first but thank you for offering!

Collapse
 
zzz6519003 profile image
Snowmanzzz(Zhengzhong Zhao)

tradeoff?

Collapse
 
kaliine profile image
Karoline

People are mentoring for different reasons - challenging, paying it forward, social aspect etc. I would love to be a mentor when I'm more experienced.