DEV Community

Karan Sharma
Karan Sharma

Posted on

RESOURCES I USED TO LEARN BLOCKCHAIN/SMART CONTRACT PROGRAMMING

Blockchain was one of the hottest topics in 2021. Many people got to know about it, some started investing in cryptocurrencies or NFTs, focussing on the finance side or some started to learn smart contract programming or blockchain development, focussing on the technical side. I took part in both the worlds, finance and tech. Started investing in Bitcoin and Ethereum every week or so and along with that started learning the blockchain and its development side. As I went further learning about it, there was not a single day I remember when I didn’t got to know about a new concept around it(Now it’s every week or so 😅). I felt intimidated as well as curious at the same time.

Blockchain has bought some new and interesting opportunities for us and I think it’s the right time to start investing some time in learning it as well and taking the first mover’s advantage as it's going to be a huge thing 5-10 yrs down the line.

So, here is the list of few resources(and some extra one’s too 😉) that I used to learn blockchain and smart contract development. Folks who are going to start their journey or has started, can refer this blog to get to know about few reliable resources to learn from.

1. The Basics of Bitcoins and Blockchain
As a first step, to know about cryptocurrency and blockchain universe I used this book by Antony Lewis. To understand blockchain in the most easiest and non-technical way, this book is hands down the best resource out there.

Blockchain basics

2. Ethereum Blockchain Developer Bootcamp With Solidity
After getting to know the basics and getting familiar with few concepts, I took this course from Udemy to get to know more about blockchain but in a more technical way and learn the development side of it.

Ethereum Blockchain Developer Bootcamp

3. Mastering Ethereum
To get my concepts more clear and refine, I used this book as a reference to know more about Ethereum and its application. I got to know more technical concepts around Ethereum blockchain.

Mastering Ethereum

4. Cryptozombies
After completing the course, I got to know about crypto zombies. It’s a zombie collectible game built using Ethereum blockchain. This course gave me more real-life application experience. After completing this, I gained some confidence and looked forward to building more stuff.

CryptoZombies

5. Dapp University YouTube Channel
My last project on crypto zombies made me really interested in building more projects on blockchain. So, to build more projects around blockchain, I followed tutorials on this channel and they were awesome!!!

Dapp University

Extra Resources

Some of the extra resources, that I found really helpful to me, were these following resources

Ethereum book

Do you want to read the digital editions/pdf form of the books or
checkout them before you want to buy them?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
No worries, I got you
yayyy

Click on this link to access the above mentioned books.

Twitter – karan_346
Github – JavaKaran

Top comments (0)