DEV Community

Karolina Jiménez
Karolina Jiménez

Posted on

Nevertheless, Karolina Jiménez Coded

I began to code because...

I was lost... I had just finished my Bachelor's Degree in Commerce, was working full time and halfway through my thesis. Then one day, I realized that nothing of what i was doing was fulfilling me, nothing was exciting neither challenging, there was no purpose. Nothing was taking me to the next step of the ladder. That's when after years and years of having a voice next to me telling to learn code hit me like a stroke.

For the first time, I took it seriously and didn't fell asleep during my study time (maybe just a couple of times). Being able to build something from scratch and knowing that those lines that I had written could help someone in the future, gave my breath back.

I am still discovering that path, but everyday that passes I am more sure that it is the right one.

I recently overcame...

My constant negativity, this by learning to be more resilient.

I want to brag about...

The fact that I have been able to understand more everyday.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who WANT TO code is....

Go for it! It is never to late, if you love it you will find time. Don't be afraid, we are more in this than you will ever imagine.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
leo_zeron profile image
Leoberto

very good reflection, I identify with her, because I practically happened the same, I studied public accounting and before finishing the degree I was already very attracted to the computer, in fact the work I got was in the systems area, thanks to many courses that were complemented with the profile they were looking for. there I started my walk until I discovered the programming, the web development, I fell in love with javascript ruby, I have done some online specialization now, I have made some sites but I am still learning because I think I am missing a lot.