DEV Community

karthik2206
karthik2206

Posted on

My non-dev side project got me 700 subscribers & 4000+ traffic

Hey everyone,

As a non-techie turned techie turned entrepreneur, I like to write about my experiences. When I started sharing them with my friends, they seemed to like it (surprisingly :P).

My effort

So, I started to do this more regularly and also in a more structured fashion. I put together a quick website and named these reports: "No-VC Reports".

Then, I wrote:
πŸ“ƒ An article
⏲️ Each week
πŸ—“οΈ For 6 months

The launch

After all that hard work, I launched it on Product Hunt, which got me:
πŸ“ˆ 700+ new subscribers
πŸ‘‘ #5 Product of the day on @ProductHunt
🚦 ~4000 new users to the website

Lessons

I am sure a lot of you work on side-projects. I just wanted to share what I learnt so that you can maybe imbibe it into your project launches too!

So, I have summarised it in my tweet thread. Do let me know in case of any question! Happy to answer them :).

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
gautham495 profile image
Gautham Vijayan

I really like how you have progressed for the last 6 months. Congratulations on what you have achieved till now and I hope you achieve more!

I think there is a small typo error in the starting of Lessons' Paragraph. I think the correct sentence must be

" I am sure a lot of people work on many side-projects . I just wanted to share what I have learnt so that you can maybe imbibe it into your project launches too!"

I think you missed some think at start, So it feels off.

Thank you!

Collapse
 
karthik2206 profile image
karthik2206

Hey Gautham, thanks for the kind words and also for the heads up - yes a glaring typo there. Missed it in my proofread too :(.

Collapse
 
gautham495 profile image
Gautham Vijayan • Edited

Your welcome! I have also included your website splash in my free illustration websites list article. Check it out.

Thread Thread
 
karthik2206 profile image
karthik2206

Thanks Gautham - that's a great article and really appreciate the inclusion of Scale :). Do share it with others you think might find it useful!

Thread Thread
 
gautham495 profile image
Gautham Vijayan

Thank you for appreciating my article. Can you tell me some ways to share my content like you do?

Thread Thread
 
karthik2206 profile image
karthik2206

For sure! Would you mind reaching out to me on karthik (at) Flexiple (dot) com?

Thread Thread
 
gautham495 profile image
Gautham Vijayan

Mail you or chat with you?