DEV Community

katongole Isaac
katongole Isaac

Posted on

Problems I face as a freelancer on Upwork

Hi guys, I hope you're doing well. I would like to share some of my experience and also some questions i still have as a freelancer.

I started freelancing at the beginning of this year as of 2023 both on upwork and fiverr. So far 6 months have elapsed but not good results yet on both sides.
One thing I've noticed is that its hard for new-comers like myself to get at-least one gig a week or even a month.

Guys, am i doing things the way they are supposed to be ?
I truly don't understand why am i failing to make it.

Nowadays its hard for me on upwork, you find a gig with over 50+ proposals sent but unfortunately the client instead invites totally different people to take up that gig, so in the end people who sent their proposals actually wasted all the connects.

Maybe I'm talking from one side, I would like to hear from the those ones who have made it through freelancing so that I also learn or follow their practices.

To be honest freelancing is also a problem on its own

I look forward to hearing from successful freelancers from anywhere around the world.

Best regards
Isaac Katongole
Frontend Developer

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
clem_corbin profile image
Clément Corbin

Hi,

I'm a freelancer using Upwork and I agree: it's hard to find gigs for newcomers.

I manage to get some gigs anyway. A few things that helped me:

  • build a niche profile with an engaging bio, with my most valuable skills, a few projects in the "Portfolio" section, and external integrations (twitter, github, stackoverflow) set up.
  • Also, I don't apply to many jobs, only the ones that truly interest me and where I'm 100% confident I'll bring value to the client. This really eases coming with one convincing proposal.
  • To do so, I have a set of "saved searches" with exactly what I'm looking for. I filter jobs using categories, type of gig, contractor tier, and advanced search (combination of keywords).
  • Then, I write each proposal by hand, very tailored for each job. I explain why I'm a perfect fit for the job, how I already know the answer to their problem, and set a clear budget/schedule. I never negociate the client's budget. If I find it too low, I simply don't answer.

Good luck on your journey

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Fair warning, I have never worked as a freelancer. This is included in my opinion as well! I just wanted to get the topic going with some information, but I am not sure if something like working for a company is available to everyone or wanted by everyone.

In the Netherlands where I work and live, we have a way different view on being a freelancer (Or ZZP'er in Dutch language). Most of the time you get way less or even zero benefits except the higher payout at the end of the month.

But, are you sick? Then you don't get payed. You don't have a contract or job with a customer? You don't get payed. You are retired? Then you need to have figured out your own pension plan. Insurance? Nope, you got to cover everything by yourself.
Are you not good enough, or are other people better? Tough luck, because then you might not get the job (e.a. if someone else if better but the same price or even cheaper. Then why would someone pick you).

As well as getting jobs, here I don't have any experience when thinking of freelancing, but what I would recommend is finding a company that rents you to other companies. This way you get all above mentioned benefits (or at least in the Netherlands). And even if you don't have some work, you are still employed at the original company, so they would have to pay you every month.

Maybe have a look at the Capgemini or the Accenture website if you're interested. Most of those consultancy companies also have training budgets to improve yourself and can even (if you're really good at your job) fly you to other countries where there is more work. Together with all the benefits.