DEV Community

Kim Davis
Kim Davis

Posted on

Explain being a tech lead to me like I'm 5??

I have been working for a very small web development company for five years, first as a "web developer" and now (as of today) as a "backend developer".

In recent weeks, my boss and I have been talking a lot about the future of my career. I asked for a title change, to that of backend developer, and the pay raise that should come with it. He agreed, and we are now heading in that direction.

We have also been talking about if I should be given the title of "lead". We agreed that I am not ready for that but that I can get there. He recommended that I spend some time reading books and studying the leadership aspects of being a lead.

I have a lot of general leadership experience, from 10 years of directing summer camps, but I have minimal industry leadership experience.

So, I am looking for any resources, advice, books, blogs, etc that can help me grow in my ability to be a tech lead, and that can help me begin showing my boss that I am heading in the right direction.

Top comments (0)