DEV Community

Cover image for Sleep or read?!
kellywilson1990
kellywilson1990

Posted on

Sleep or read?!

Sleepiness as an unrecognized hindrance to reading

The first thing people notice when they come into my apartment is a book breakthrough. Yes, I love reading and I do it for a living. Few readers immediately have the inner question "Why don't I read so much?". Basic answers:

- I'm too busy;

- I can't concentrate;

- I can't read;

- I fall asleep from books.

The first three reasons are quite universal, they tend only to personal discipline. As Stephen King remarked: "... if a man really wants to find time, he will find it."

The fourth reason may seem to be a lack of concentration, but it is not. Sleepiness comes to everyone, and even to me! The habit of reading is just a skill that everyone can learn if they want to. And do not think that books are smarter than us, they may just not fit your current feelings.

 

The first three reasons can be overcome through willpower, and sleepiness refers to the physiological obstacles that you can not easily cope with.

 

I often catch myself in the fact that my eyes do not close freely, and there is still a lot of work ahead. I used to try to hold myself together, but I gave up. Now if the dream overcomes me, I give myself some time to take a nap, and then with renewed vigor I return to reading.

 

Agree that reading is not always easy, sometimes it takes a lot of mental effort, but if you consider the static position. That's why most hirewriters are keen on sports: Haruki Murakami is a runner, Arthur Conan Doyle was keen on cricket, Vladimir Nabokov played tennis. Sport gives a charge of vigour. I, for example, skateboard and take long walks with my dog.

 

Most people who read will be skeptical, sleep is not a real reading companion. Although sleepiness may not arise from the books themselves, but from general fatigue. Try reading in the morning, when you are at your peak of activity, it should help. And do not think that reading is not for you, develop this skill and know that even well-known critics sometimes fall asleep from books.

 

Interesting books - a good fiction, detective, novel - forced to follow the story, think and assume the outcome, and then you will not fall asleep. You can swallow a book like that in three days.

 

So when you need to master a large amount of "useful" information, alternating it with fiction - as a lesson and change. That's a great help.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
iamarya profile image
Arya • Edited

I agree! And in case of learning forming chunks and taking breaks is the key. I also like reading books when I am not in front of a PC.

I am currently reading Permanent Record by Edward Snowden