DEV Community

Cover image for The end of a project!
Rafael Lourenço
Rafael Lourenço

Posted on

The end of a project!

Today, I found myself pondering a question: When can we genuinely declare a project as complete? This question becomes even more complex in the programming world, where even minor projects can undergo refactoring over an extended duration. The reason is straightforward: with an expanding understanding, there’s always an opportunity for enhancing and optimizing your code.

In my view, a project can be deemed complete when specific objectives are established. After all, we wouldn’t want to be perpetually coding one thing – the universe of programming is vast! Setting clear objectives not only steers the process but also serves as a roadmap to finish a project without any regrets.

Now, if you find the outcome unsatisfactory after some time, don’t hesitate to establish new objectives. Just be wary not to plunge into coding without a plan; you might lose track of your initial motivation and end up feeling somewhat lost in the process.

As for my latest project, the Leaky Bucket with Redis and Node, it’s complete, and I’m satisfied with it for the time being. Perhaps in the future, equipped with more knowledge and new tools, I’ll revisit and revamp it. But for now, I believe the initial objective has been accomplished.

The next step is to return to the Woovi Challenge, but I’m contemplating doing something simpler than an e-commerce. Since my friend has already established a page with no-code tools, I just need to think what I can do. There are numerous problems in the world that need solutions, but your personal issues should be the top priority.

Top comments (0)