DEV Community

Cover image for Let ChatGPT write your best LinkedIn summary & posts
Kodsama
Kodsama

Posted on

Let ChatGPT write your best LinkedIn summary & posts

A lot of people are jumping the wagon of generative AI and discovering the good and bad of the technique.

While everything should be taken with a grain of rough salt, the ChatGPT tool is by design great for summarizing big amount of data.

During my previous post Job application on steroids with ChatGPT, we walked through how to include your professional experience to ✨automagically write✨ a cover letter and answer simple questions related to a job position.

Here I would like to briefly show how you could use it to create a the best professional summary you will have on your LinkedIn profile or CV.

A very brief note: I recommend to keep a text document with an extensive description of what you did in your different jobs and what you want to highlight. This will serve as a great source for ChatGPT to answer requests.

 

How?

The syntax is pretty simple, just write a prompt for chat GPT in the form of:

Write a passionate short text about the kind of person I am using this professional experience: [Personal experience]

The way to extract your professional experience is explain for beginners in a previous post.

It will then summarize the kind of jobs you did, and you can adjust on the fly to get to the result you want. You can have a look at an example in the A practical example part below.

It is quite scary and still very helpful to use such a tool as it provides a fast and somewhat accurate way of finding the essence of a question you have with a lot of attached data.

 
For a human like me it is difficult to summarize who I think I am, but for ChatGPT it barely takes a few tokens...

 

A concrete example

I thought I could give a concrete example as an illustration of a command I wrote (I shortened it with [...]). Click on the arrows below to see them.

I started with:

Write a passionate short text about the kind of person I am using this professional experience: [Personal experience]

the complete ChatGPT request
Write a passionate short text about the kind of person I am using this professional experience:

Aaa
Digital Product Leader
[...]
I addressed customer needs and helped them focus on their core business. I
oversaw the entire process from defining the problem to delivering a solution
and providing support [...]
Bbb
Video lead engineer
[...]
As the lead developer for video-related projects, I worked [...]
Ccc
Experienced Video Software Engineer
[...]
I developed new video functionalities in the new generation of embedded [...]
Ddd
Flight Attendant
[...]
Being a flight attendant means [...]
Eee
Software Engineer
[...]
I wrote a VNC client software on PC (Windows) from scratch [...]
Fff
Cast Member
[...]
Ensuring that the guests have a pleasant day [...]

Education:
Zzz
Doctor of Philosophy - PhD, Automatic Control, Game theory, Applied
mathematics · (April 2016 - June 2022)
Yyy
Master of Business Administration - MBA, Business Administration and
Management, General · (September 2019 - July 2021)
Xxx
Master of Engineering - MEng, Electrical, Electronics and Communications
Engineering · (September 2010 - September 2013)
Www
Bachelor of Engineering - BE, Electrical and Electronics
Engineering · (September 2008 - September 2010)


And ChatGPT compiled this text:

the ChatGPT answer
Hello! I am a digital product leader with extensive experience in product management, project management, cross-functional team leadership, and product development. Currently, I am working at Aaa as a Digital Product Leader, where I am responsible for solving customer problems, managing an eCommerce platform, and an IoT web application. My workday includes everything from identifying problems, proposing solutions, ensuring timely and budget delivery, and handling project execution. Besides this, I have experience as a Video lead engineer at Bbb, where I worked with the backend team to enhance the cloud video architecture performance and deliver high-quality products while reducing overall system costs. Moreover, I worked for eight years at Ccc as an Experienced Video Software Engineer, where I developed new video functionalities for the new generation of embedded cameras, and my team was responsible for video and codec for all company products. My experience includes working with Amazon Web Services, video compression, video quality, embedded software, machine learning, and cloud. Overall, I have a track record of delivering innovative solutions addressing today and tomorrow's challenges related to video and bandwidth.

It was too crude and detailed to I corrected using this query:

Make it shorter, remove reference to previous work. Just write about what kind of person I am and make it more passionate.

ChatGPT correction
You are a passionate and driven individual who approaches life with a positive and optimistic outlook. You have a natural curiosity and a desire to learn and grow, which has led you to explore a variety of interests and pursue diverse experiences. Your strong work ethic and determination have helped you achieve success in both your personal and professional life. You value authenticity, honesty, and kindness, and strive to embody these qualities in your interactions with others. Overall, you are a compassionate and dynamic person who is always seeking to better yourself and the world around you.

And finally it needs to be more personal, so you need to change the pronom:

Rephrase this at the first person.

ChatGPT correction
I am a passionate and driven individual who approaches life with a positive and optimistic outlook. I have a natural curiosity and a desire to learn and grow, which has led me to explore a variety of interests and pursue diverse experiences. My strong work ethic and determination have helped me achieve success in both my personal and professional life. I value authenticity, honesty, and kindness, and strive to embody these qualities in my interactions with others. Overall, I am a compassionate and dynamic person who is always seeking to better myself and the world around me.

and as I bonus, I asked:

Rewrite it a linkedin post

And got a post which looks a lot like some colleagues:

the LinkedIn post
Hello LinkedIn fellows! 🌟

I'm a passionate and driven individual who believes in embracing every moment with positivity and optimism. My natural curiosity and love for learning have led me to explore a range of interests and pursue diverse experiences. With a strong work ethic and unwavering determination, I have achieved success both personally and professionally.

I prioritize authenticity, honesty, and kindness in all my interactions with others, making sure to embody these qualities in everything I do. As a compassionate and dynamic person, I am always seeking ways to better myself and the world around me.

Let's connect to explore opportunities to learn and grow together! 🤝


Pretty impressive I would say.

 
 
The cover image is under Creative Commons 3 license and is provided by picpedia.

Top comments (0)