DEV Community

Cover image for Where to Work Outside Your Home? Exploring the Best Spots (Bite-size Article)
koshirok096
koshirok096

Posted on

Where to Work Outside Your Home? Exploring the Best Spots (Bite-size Article)

Introduction

I often use my laptop for work, and one of its advantages is the ability to take it to various locations outside my home. Nowadays, the number of digital nomad workers, who work from various locations, has been increasing. It's incredibly cool to be able to do the same work from different places like cafes and libraries. However, finding a comfortable place to work is also crucial.

I'm very interested in where you usually work (please share if you're willing!).

In this article, I'll share a list of places where I've worked outside of my home in the past. I'm not sure if this will be helpful to you, but if you're interested, please give it a read!

Cafes

Image description

For those looking to work on their laptops outdoors, cafes stand out as a top choice for a workspace. With many offering Wi-Fi, you can savor a coffee or snack while settling into a comfortable work rhythm.

I personally lean towards frequenting chain cafes like Starbucks or cozy local coffee shops that boast spacious layouts and clean surroundings.

Yet, it's crucial to remember that these spots can fill up quickly, making it challenging to secure a seat. Steering clear of busy times is recommended.

Additionally, if you plan on staying for long hours, it's considerate to think of others and make occasional purchases to support the store.

Restaurants, Food Court

Image description

Sometimes, I end up working on my laptop at chain burger joints or family-style restaurants, though it's not my usual practice.

Unlike many cafes, which cater to digital nomads and those working on laptops, restaurants often don't have this audience in mind, making them less ideal for work (I tend to use my laptop in such places only on rare occasions, like in casual burger shops).

I've also tried working in food courts during gaps in my schedule, but found them to be too crowded and not comfortable to work. So, I generally consider cafes to be a better option for such activities.

Airport

Image description

Of course, it's quite a rare scenario, but I sometimes find myself needing to work or complete tasks during travels that involve flying.

Airports typically come equipped with Wi-Fi, charging facilities, sofas, restaurants, and vending machines, offering enough amenities for a comfortable stay even during long waits. When traveling by plane, flight delays and other issues are common, making such facilities incredibly beneficial for travelers.

Although it's not a place I use regularly for work, I personally enjoy the ambiance of airports. I take advantage of waiting times to find my favorite spot within the spacious buildings and dedicate the time before my flight to personal tasks, making the most of these moments.

Libraries

Image description

When you need a quiet environment to concentrate, local libraries are an excellent option. Most libraries provide Wi-Fi services, and some even allow the use of power outlets. It’s also a convenient spot for research or study, with easy access to necessary resources.

Generally speaking, compared to cafes, there tend to be fewer people talking and it's quieter, making it a good place to concentrate and get work done.

Co-working Spaces

Image description

For those seeking a professional environment, co-working spaces are a great choice. Equipped with Wi-Fi, printers, and meeting rooms, these spaces also offer the chance to network with other nomad workers and freelancers. There might be a fee, but the benefits are worth it.

I've only used it a few times personally, but I generally find it to be a comfortable place to work. At the co-working space I previously used, there were active event announcements on bulletin boards and vibrant networking among users, which I found quite appealing.

Parks

Image description

On a nice day, working outdoors in a park can be refreshing. Being surrounded by nature can relax you and boost creativity. However, as Wi-Fi might not be available, be prepared to work offline. It may be used in limited situations :(

Conclusion

In this article, I have compiled as many places as I can think of where you can work outside.

Image description

I hope you all find the perfect place that fits your work style. And as I mentioned a bit earlier, if you have a favorite place to work that is not on this list, please let us know!

Thank you for reading!

Top comments (0)