DEV Community

Cover image for How to Build Java Applications Today #73
Karsten Silz
Karsten Silz

Posted on • Originally published at bpfnl.substack.com

How to Build Java Applications Today #73

TL;DR

There’s no issue this month, as I switched my newsletter from monthly to quarterly. Why? Because I can’t spend as much time on this newsletter anymore.


What's This?

There's no issue this month, as I decided to switch my newsletter from monthly to quarterly and remove the stand-up, news, and release sections. Why? Because since January, I've been juggling a full-time contract gig with my start-up. So I can't spend as much time on this newsletter anymore.

Now the heart of my newsletter is the Java Technology Popularity Index. And I keep it! It tells you which Java technologies companies hires for in 59 countries with Indeed.com. And for developers, it tells what online courses they buy at Udemy, what technologies they search for at Google, and how many questions they ask at Stack Overflow. And all of that for IDEs, build tools, programming languages, databases, back-end frameworks, front-end web frameworks, and mobile cross-platform frameworks – all the technologies you need to build Java applications today.

I publish updates to this index once a quarter already. But my newsletter also had three sections that also changed monthly:

  • Stand-Up: My look back at the last month and look forward to the coming month.
  • Release Radar: Essential tool & technology releases for Java developers.
  • New & Noteworthy: Last month’s most important news for Java developers.

So these sections are gone now. Sorry! Are you're still interested in Java news & releases? Then I recommend reading the weekly "Java News Roundup" on InfoQ. It has – wait for it - Java news & release galore! It usually appears on Monday or Tuesday. Bookmark the Java topic on InfoQ, and you won't miss the "Java News Roundup" and other news & articles!

I’m also changing the release date, so I can stretch out the work of assembling the index over more days. Next month is Easter, where I travel, so I’ll try the third Monday of April for now - April 17.


Next Issue

The next issue will arrive on Monday, April 17, 2023. Subscribe to this newsletter on Substack for free to receive the next issue automatically!


About

Karsten Silz is the author of this newsletter. He is a full-stack Java developer (Spring Boot, Angular, Flutter) with 24 years of Java experience. Karsten has worked in Europe and the US and is also an author and speaker. He got a Master’s degree in Computer Science at the Dresden University of Technology (Germany) in 1996.

Karsten co-founded a software start-up in the US in 2004. He led product development for 13 years and left after the company was sold successfully. Karsten then co-founded the UK SaaS start-up "Your Home in Good Hands" as CTO in 2020. Since 2003, he has also worked as a contractor.

Karsten has this newsletter, a developer website, and a contractor site. He's on LinkedInTwitter, Xing, and GitHub. Karsten is also a Java editor at InfoQ.

Top comments (0)