DEV Community

Cover image for Tech Interview: Rate yourself out of 10
Kushagr Arora
Kushagr Arora

Posted on

Tech Interview: Rate yourself out of 10

rate yourself out of 10

Logic

Interviewers ask this question to get an idea how good the candidate is or what can be a first few set of questions. In first go, this seems to be a very easy question, like a candidate might translate this roughly into "How much comfortable are you in using XYZ in your projects?". When I see the broader picture, I understand the actual answer that a candidate delivers is "(how much he knows) out of (how much he thinks exists in the world)" which is not wrong, but also not valid.

If a candidate doesn't know the vastness of the concept, he would never be able to justify his answer. A person who knows how vast that particular technology is, should be able to answer honestly, and things can be expected to go smooth for him during interview.

Experience:

Last year, during one of my interviews I was asked to rate myself in JavaScript. I answered "3/10". The interviewer was shocked. He asked me the reason for such a low rating. I shared my views with him. He accepted my justification, and then he named a few topics and asked my familiarity with those concepts. I answered what I knew and things went well.

Top comments (0)