DEV Community

Lankinen
Lankinen

Posted on

What is Unity Mars?

MARS | Unity

I got interested of this because I notice that it's for AR developers. I just couldn't figure out from their own site (link above) what's the benefit.

One thing I got out of the website was that it's possible to simulate AR apps with this as right now you need to build the thing to your device and use the camera in real world to see how it looks like.

"Multiplatform AR dev framework" section on the website sounded a little bit fishy as they kind of explained that it's happening in AR Foundation package that's already free.

The price is ridiculous for person like me who don't have a company to pay it. I really hope that Unity doesn't become greed with their pricing models as they are planing to do IPO. I'm happy to invest some money to their stock as long as they keep the current focus that everyone likes and doesn't try to squeeze every penny making less in long term when users leave.

Unity Technologies Launches Unity MARS: A First-of-its-Kind Authoring Studio for Creating Intelligent Augmented Reality Experiences

"...gives creators across industries the power to build intelligent AR content seamlessly." If I understand correctly Mars is more like testing platform for AR apps developed using AR Foundation that's free. Imo "build" word in this sentence is a little bit confusing as it's not for literally building like AR Foundation but for testing. Of course testing is part of building process so I guess that's the reason they used that word.

Then in the article Timoni West from Unity says that Unity Mars solved three biggest challenges AR creators faced and those were "[1.] Creators can author complex, data-oriented apps visually, [2.] test their experiences without leaving the MARS authoring environment, and deliver apps that are contextually aware, flexible, and [3.] truly interact with the real world." I'm not sure if I added the numbers into the correct positions because the sentence is very complex and full of jargon. This is great example of how to not explain a product to an investor. What I believe Timoni tries to say is that it's for testing AR apps simply and with the control of environment meaning that they can place a chair to the position and location they want.


I'm done with this. Seems like Unity Mars is just a way to test AR apps without all that building and testing on real device in real environment. It's probably somewhat useful but because there is pretty high price tag, I'm of course not going to buy it.

Top comments (0)