DEV Community

Laura Montemayor
Laura Montemayor

Posted on

Nevertheless, Laura Montemayor Coded

I began/continue to code because...

The first time I ever touched code was when I was 15, at a sleepover, hunched over quietly over a laptop while my friends slept. I loved the idea of talking to a computer in something that sounded like human language and seeing what I could do with it. I continue coding because I love the challenge and the possibilities of solutions it offers.

I recently overcame...

Really, really, really bad impostor syndrome. ๐Ÿค˜

I want to brag about...

Discovering that I'm a very quick learner! Just last year, I dived into Data Visualization, a bit of Machine Learning, did some basic data science, learned a bit of Mandarin and also got into drawing. Persistence is ๐Ÿ”‘!

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

Be empathetic and compassionate. Always keep in mind that everyone is trying their best and learn at different levels and via different methods. Learn how to give good feedback! :)

Top comments (0)