DEV Community

learnacadman
learnacadman

Posted on • Updated on

Moving from Shared web hosting to VPS

I have a Affiliate website that gets around 10k visits / mo, initially I hosted that site on Bluehost because it was really cheap after applying some coupons etc. and a free domain.

The speed was decent with high uptime, but as the site started getting more visitors both speed and uptime started declining.

There were more frequent downtimes because my site was using too many resources, speed was really slow.
Image description

So, I decided to move my site to a VPS, bought the cheapest VPS from SiteGround and hosted my site on it, the VPS is managed so I don't have to worry about the technical part.

But the cost is still too much, I'll think about hosting the site on another VPS like AWS when I get time.

SiteGround vs Bluehost

For now its SiteGround is doing fine.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dasanasak profile image
Dosa Nasyak

Well, I use G-core's VPS and It's fine:)
They have a cool support team, very responsive. Always in touch, 24/7, IDK about Bluehost I didn’t use them, but I think G-core has better prices

G-core's VPS which I use
4vCPU - 4gb RAM - 100gb SSD - 22€/mo
Bluehost's VPS
2vCPU - 4gb RAM - 60gb SSD - 27€/mo

Collapse
 
lola_tray profile image
Lola Tray Rosendo

Yes, G-core is better than AWS as well. Switched to G-core after 2 years of working with Amazon. I calculated that I save monthly from 200-300 euros)