DEV Community

Maria Campbell
Maria Campbell

Posted on

Class Conflicts

React and CSS Modules

Today I learned about how one can scope the css files of React components to the styling of only the components themselves using css modules. For example, App.css would contain styles only for App.js, Person.css, i.e., would only contain styles for Person.js, etc.

I am using CRA for this project (for a change), and had to eject out of it in order to make the necessary changes in my CRA webpack.config.dev.js and webpack.config.prod.js files.

The only other thing that needed to be done was to add the following to both the webpack.config.dev.js and webpack.config.prod.js in the css module within the module object:

{
    test: /\.css$/,
    use: [
        require.resolve('style-loader'),
        {
            loader: require.resolve('css-loader'),
            options: {
                importLoaders: 1,
                modules: true,
                localIdentName: '[name]__[local]__[hash:base64:5]',
            },
        },
    ]
}

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Specifically, I added modules: true, and
localIdentName: '[name]__[local]__[hash:base64:5]',

css-loader parses and converts our css, extracts it, stores it, AND supports css-modules.

The addition of modules:true and
localIndentName: '[name]__[local]__[hash:base64:5]' is critical for your styles, and your css classes getting unique names per component so that they don’t override each other globally across the application.

[name]: refers to your css className.

[local]: allows css-loaders to assign it (the className) to a local component. In other words, scope it.

[hash:base64:5]: gives your className a unique hash to make sure you don’t overwrite your styles globally across your application.

And that’s all that had to be done to enable css modules. But remember, once you eject, you can’t go back!

Then I went into my App component, App.js, and imported my classes from App.css with the variable name classes.

// App.js
import classes from './App.css';
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After that, I needed to update my className properties so that my classes would work again. By scoping my css classes in App.css to App.js, they no longer worked as strings in the JSX.

So this is what my code initially looked like:

// App.js in return statement for the render() method

return (
    <div className={classes.App}>
    <h1 className={classes.title}>Hi, I'm a React App</h1>
    <p className={classes.join(' ')}>This is really working.</p>
    <button style={buttonStyle}
        onClick={this.togglePersonsHandler}>Toggle Persons</button>
        {persons}
    </div>
);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Looks pretty straightforward, right? But guess what. It didn’t work. I scratched my head wondering, “why not?”, for a few minutes. Then I checked on the CRA Github repo for any CRA css modules related issues that might be out there, because CRA still does NOT support css modules out of the box. There has been a lot of buzz around adding support for it for the longest time, and purportedly there will be full support with the release of CRA 2. When that is taking place, however, is not known.

Next I tackled my other component, Person.js, to see what would happen there. I did the following at the top of the file:

// Person.js
import personClasses from './Person.css';
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And then within the body of the Person component:

const Person = (props) => {
    return (
        <div className={personClasses.Person}>
        <p onClick={props.click}>I am {props.name} and I am    {props.age} years old!</p>
        <input type='text' onChange={props.changed} value={props.name}/>
        </div>
    );
}
export default Person;
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I encountered no problems. ???

Then I went searching for an article that might have discussed this particular workaround. I found it immediately, and gave it a read. It seemed to work pretty much for everyone, so no issue there. So then what could be issue which prevented my classes from being added to my JSX? Then it dawned on my all of a sudden. Of course! I was experiencing CLASS (NAMING) CONFLICTS. I had named the import variable for my App.css, classes. I had named another variable unrelated to css modules classes as well. Therein arose the class conflict. I had given two different variables the same name.

For importing my classes from App.css, I ended up switching from classes to appClasses:

import appClasses from './App.css';
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

For the array variable, I kept the name classes.

// App.js

const classes = [];
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

But then I had to push some conditional classes into the classes array, AND I had to append the import variable to those classes.

const classes = [];
if(this.state.persons.length <= 2) {
    classes.push(appClasses.rebeccapurple);
}
if(this.state.persons.length <= 1) {
    classes.push(appClasses.bold);
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And then in my main App.js div:

return (
    <div className={appClasses.App}>
    <h1 className={appClasses.title}>Hi, I'm a React App</h1>
    <p className={classes.join(' ')}>This is really working.</p>
    <button style={buttonStyle}
        onClick={this.togglePersonsHandler}>Toggle Persons</button>
        {persons}
    </div>
);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Now everything worked. You see why things could get pretty confusing! So be sure to remember what you named what as you add more and more layers to your React application.

Related Resources:

I gave my first presentation tonight (on React workflows)

How to Use CSS Modules with Create React App

Add support for CSS Modules with explicit filename – [name].module.css #2285

Top comments (0)