DEV Community

Levi Velázquez
Levi Velázquez

Posted on

What is your favorite flowcharts/diagramming tools.

A lot of times, we need to create a flow diagram to integrate two or more APIs/Systems/Interfaces or describe certain processes. Sometimes it could be internal or we need to share with a third party.

What tool do you prefer or recommend?

Feel free to recommend one due to different characteristics: friendly interface, beautiful icons, being minimalistic, etc.

My list:

  • Balsamiq More for wireframes but it is pretty
  • draw.io Pros: It has a lot of templates and types, it has good integration with google drive. Cons: it would be nice to have prettier icons and a better shared-comments system.
  • Lucidchard I just started to use it, it seems pretty nice, it has a basic free version.

Complete list including recommendations from comments:

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
yashsway profile image
Yash Kadaru

I found whimsical.co recently, and I have to say after a long, long search, this is the one. It's beautiful and it works.

Collapse
 
t0nghe profile image
Tonghe Wang • Edited

Hey Yash, thanks a million for this suggestion. I love it. I don't know how it looked back in 2019, but it is mind-blowingly good now.

Collapse
 
levivm profile image
Levi Velázquez

I'll take a look.

Collapse
 
davids profile image
David

+1 for draw.io

You can draw pretty much any diagram with it and it runs anywhere.

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B 🚀

Use draw.io and StarUml.
Balsamiq is awesome too. Most often I use pencil and paper to draw ideas first and then transfer to the computer later.

Collapse
 
brandonskerritt profile image
Autumn

Hey! I use Lucid chart for well, everything. Even my blog post cover images are made in lucid chart 😅 the free vertis great. It has templates for everything, and tutorials on anything related to diagramming!

Their UML tutorial is by far my most go to tutorial in the web 😂

Collapse
 
levivm profile image
Levi Velázquez

Yep, I just started using it and I liked it, it is very pretty. Also, creating a connection between blocks is very easy.

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

I like PlantUML for UML-ish diagrams.

Collapse
 
ebendutoit profile image
Eben du Toit

Google Drawings has all the basics if you have a gmail account.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Lucid chart is pretty solid!

Collapse
 
jacobgoh101 profile image
Jacob Goh

Generation of diagram and flowchart from text in a similar manner as markdown
github.com/mermaid-js/mermaid

Collapse
 
alexisgahon profile image
Alexis Gahon

Actually, I am giving a try to this fantastic tool: code2flow

Collapse
 
levivm profile image
Levi Velázquez

This looks amazing. Good suggestion.

Collapse
 
001101 profile image
001101

Looks like advertisement