DEV Community

Dmitry Lezhnev
Dmitry Lezhnev

Posted on

Playbook for Remote Development Teams

This is a short version of my blog post: https://lessthan12ms.com/remote-teams-playbook.html

This list contains my distilled ideas that came from working in quite a few teams and observing the industry, there are no two identical companies so I am aware of my limited exposure and probable naiveness. However, these insights came from my real experience and I can truly say that these things work and work well. I have worn many hats. Worked many years as a contractor/freelancer, then switched to small saas/mobile app startups (as CTO or a backend developer). I enjoy the most working at the backend with only two tools open: my IDE and my terminal (the rest is optional).

The playbook contents:

  • Practices to deliver high-quality code in the long run.
  • Cultural fit
  • No Backlog
  • Developers Autonomy
  • Share Knowledge And Progress
  • Clear Technical Standards And Expectations
  • Supervised Onboarding
  • Foreman
  • Multi-phase code quality control
  • CI/CD
  • TDD
  • SOLID principles
  • Hexagonal(Clean) Architecture

Top comments (0)