DEV Community

Lauren Fosgett
Lauren Fosgett

Posted on

Just Start

I have been interested in web development and coding for a while now. Every time in my life that I've felt lost or uncertain about my future, I find my way back into coding and building upon my dev skills.

And then life happens, and I fall out of the habit, and I forget how much I enjoy learning and building new things.

Getting back into the habit can be really discouraging, especially if it's been months since I've last touched a line of code. I found myself trying to revisit old projects, but beating myself up about how much better the final product could have been if I had just stuck with it.

I've tried to build my personal website many, many times. I start working on it, envisioning a beautiful final product, and I quickly get discouraged because at this point, my skill level doesn't meet the bar I've set for myself.

It wasn't until recently that I realized it doesn't need to be perfect, I just need to do it.

I'm reminded of this excellent quote from Ira Glass:

“It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.”

I never connected with "fighting my way through" because I never gave myself the chance. Once I lowered my self-imposed expectations, I was able to build a site, work through the challenges I was facing and get something working. It may not be pretty (yet!) but I'm beyond proud of it.

My advice to you if you're in a similar situation: keep it simple, keep moving forward, your skills will get better over time.


I originally posted this on my blog at LaurenFosgett.com.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
snj profile image
Nic

yep, create it and then improve it little by little.

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (🚀 Open Up The Cloud ☁️)

🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌