DEV Community

Cover image for changing the code.
Litaty
Litaty

Posted on • Updated on

changing the code.

You guys! Hi, it's Litaty!! Well, you can call me Lillie.
I wanted to share my story and what lead me to changing my career completely. Please grab a drink and a snack because I know my Leo energy will take over and make you stay a while.

Let's start by knowing more about me. I am an immigrant on DACA. I am proud to be born Mexican and be a daughter to immigrants. I remember growing up, I would watch them push through even when stumbling and occasionally falling. I didn't know it yet but it really showed me there is a better tomorrow. Their "never stop" mentality was passed down and instilled in me. For that, I am forever grateful. I don't think I would be typing this if I was just content with living in an apartment with roommates. Nothing wrong with that, but my parents didn't jump the border just so I could live a basic life.

I never knew liking tech and finding the reason why things work the way they do, was a career. I was one of those teens who was on the computer learning code to make my Myspace background perfect! I didn't know it at the time but 10 years later I would be learning code once more but for a greater cause.

I felt like I was stumbling in life, like I couldn't get my footing just right. And when I thought I did, I was already hitting the floor. Nothing felt right. Retail, auto sales, delivery services. I wanted out. No, I wanted to step into living life. To actually enjoy getting ready for work and feel that excitement for the day ahead of me. I wanted to know what it would be like not to look at the clock counting down the hours until I get to leave. I felt trapped within my daily routine and thought that would be how I always felt.

I felt lost, alone and like the image I made for myself to make my parents proud, was just crumbling away. Until one day I heard about a girl making more than double what I make now, doing code. My ears perked up and I had to know more. I looked into it and worked hard to enroll and even got a small scholarship!

Finally I felt free.

Being able to tell my parents, brought me joy. So much now that tears are welling up, well streaming down my face. I know they didn't have the same standard for me as I did for myself. All they wanted was to give their kids a better and safer life than we would have on our homeland.

Becoming a mom, has made me appreciate this so much more now. For them, my son and myself, I am pursuing my dream.
So that I can make them proud but most importantly, be proud of myself.

Top comments (0)