DEV Community

Liza Wilde
Liza Wilde

Posted on

Nevertheless, Liza Wilde Coded

I began coding because...

I traveled a lot as a child, and my computer was my constant. I was a huge fan of the gaming site, Neopets, and with each virtual pet you got a blank HTML page to do with what you wanted. I read ALL of their tutorials and would make my pages the best they could be, even creating multiple accounts and pets so that I could link pages. Eventually their tutorials weren't enough, so I dived into other online resources and I've been hooked ever since.

I'm currently hacking on...

All of the websites I work on through my 9-5 job, but I also design and develop websites for creative entrepreneurs in my free time, so I'm usually hacking away at one of those. I was recently excepted into the Hackers Fellowship in Detroit, Michigan, and am gearing up for some amazing bootcamp learning, and all of the awesome collab projects that will come from that!

Oh, and I'm an event organizer for Girl Develop It Ann Arbor, so I'm usually hacking away at the logistics of planning workshops. ;)

I'm excited about...

Teaching GDI Ann Arbor's Intro to HTML/CSS workshop at the end of this month. It'll be my second time teaching this curriculum, and I'm always so excited to see my students get into the basics and their questions about where it can take them in the future.

I'm really passionate about helping other women get into code, whether that's the career path they've always been on, or it's a change from what they've been doing for the last decade.

My advice for other women who code is...

Declare it. Tell the world you are interested in coding, and it will welcome you. There are so many resources, and groups, and companies who are looking for women who code.

Top comments (0)