DEV Community

LOBK
LOBK

Posted on

Creating Anki flashcards on iOS

Creating Anki flashcards can be a clunky process on the desktop, more so on iOS. I have created a Siri Shortcut that grabs a list of questions, asks the user to answer each question and adds both the question and answer to Anki. I modified the shortcut so that I can also have the question and answer added automatically into Anki.

The former is useful for reinforcing concepts before they are added into Anki. I've found that flashcards are more useful if I've already tried to learn the content first, rather than learning it after I've added it to Anki. However, there are times when I'm reading a textbook and creating flashcards at the same time. As a result, I prefer to have the answer saved so that I don't have to go back in the textbook to find the answer.

The callback url (forgive me, I still don't know what the correct 'terminology' is for url schemes) for Anki is anki://x-callback-url/addnote?profile=<USER>&type=Basic&deck=<DECK NAME>&fldFront=<CONTENT>&fldBack=<CONTENT>&tags=<TAGS>

<DECK NAME> and <USER> can be hardcoded into the URL because they don't change much. However, I decided to use Magic Variables instead of hardcoding them in case I want to switch decks in the future.

Top comments (0)