DEV Community

Cover image for When I hated Typescript
Lougie
Lougie

Posted on

When I hated Typescript

I kept telling myself before that there's no need for me to learn Typescript and convinced by some of the articles I read that it will just slowdown my development progress. When I read it's documentation and after I finished reading 2-3 pages of it, I said to myself that there's no way I will try this thing into my project since it looked really complicated to me. Months passed by, and there's not even a day that I couldn't encounter any article saying how good it is and it's the best thing that happens to Javascript. I gave it a try...once again... But this time I invested so much time learning it and even bought a course online to really grasp Typescript.

I started developing personal projects with it from React to React Native. The first days of trying it were so hard that my development progress really slowed down but it makes me realize how good it is. Before, without Typescript, I could easily get lost from my own code but with Typescript, it makes my code self-documenting. I don't need to look back into my other components after calling it to check it's parameters since Typescript will just notify me if I missed a required parameter. It certainly makes me structure my code way better.

VSCode Intellisense

This is just the other big advantage if you use Typescript. Seeing these suggestions while you code makes you realize that you are missing a lot of things if you don't use Typescript with your javascript code.

Intelligent Code

My React Project with Typescript

WP React Typescript is a simple admin functionality using Wordpress' REST API. I developed this to help other ReactJS developers in building an admin section of their project. I think the most complicated part of this project is integrating Typescript with React Redux. I added some instructions on how this was achieved in the README file. I hope this will help someone someday.

This is my first post in Dev.to and my first online post as well. Your feedback will be highly appreciated :)

Top comments (0)