DEV Community

LucasAlt
LucasAlt

Posted on • Updated on

SpookyBot, an open source Discord bot

πŸŽƒ A spooky Discord bot

This project is convenient for people who want to get into open source and contribute to different projects especially during the Hacktoberfest.

Don't hesitate to ask me for help on my Discord server, I would help you with great pleasure!

What does he do?

For the moment, the bot reacts with emojis according to the words present in the messages.
For example, if you send the following message: "I saw a ghost today", SpookyBot will add the reaction πŸ‘» to the message.

SpookyBot react to every messages

Words list

Word Emoji
ghost πŸ‘»
halloween πŸŽƒ
candy 🍬
spooky a cute custom ghost

If you want to add some cute spooky terror on your server, feel free to invite SpookyBot on it!

What can I do?

Almost everything!
Seriously, you can help me translate the robot into different languages or add new words and emojis to the list. Otherwise, you can help me add some cool commands to make the robot more fun to use!

How to contribute?

Nothing simpler, just follow the contribution guide on the GitHub repository.

GitHub logo start-again / spookyBot

πŸŽƒ A spooky Discord bot

SpookyBot

πŸŽƒ A spooky Discord bot

release issues stars forks

This project is convenient for people who want to get into open source and contribute to different projects especially during the Hacktoberfest.

Don't hesitate to ask me for help on my Discord server, I would help you with great pleasure!

πŸ€– Add the bot on your server

You just need to click on this link and validate the form without changing any permission.

🌐 Adding a language

You can add languages to the robot so that it is translated and accessible to everyone!

To do this, nothing could be simpler, just copy the file ./app/lang/en.js then rename it following the ISO 639-1 nomenclature Then you just need to modify the file as you wish. For the translation to be set up on the robot, do not hesitate to open a pull request by following this guide.

To react to a word…

Original post from my blog

Top comments (0)