DEV Community

Cover image for Overcoming my DoomScrolling Addiction [Reels and Shorts]
Nukala Suraj
Nukala Suraj

Posted on • Updated on

Overcoming my DoomScrolling Addiction [Reels and Shorts]

consider this...
you're working on a project that you've been pretty excited about for a while

now...
you are someone who keeps your phone on battery saver/DND mode when you're working but you forgot to this time...

and you get a notification on your phone

img

it's from a childhood friend of yours, someone who you haven't had a conversation with for a while now

you reply to them and also habitually click on the "reels" icon

5 mins

BOOOM 180 minutes pass by and you remember you had something you wanted to work on

You're not alone

I'm someone whose tried everything out there that didn't work to prevent this from happening again ranging from:

  1. uninstalling insta [only to later eventually install it]
  2. increase my willpower [failed miserably]
  3. shifting to the web version [but needing to install it everytime I want to post something on stories]

all these attempts made me think deep on why this was happening and the answer was... the existence of this stupid little icon
reels

Removing the Problem

I initially tried to see if I could make a mod APK where the whole reels section wouldn't be there but
drag

and then I remembered how adblockers work... they identify ads in a website and not render them... so what if I could configure an adblocker to treat the icon as an ad
shrugiee

after surfing reddit for less than 3 minutes [at least in my head]... I found a someone who configured their ublock origin [the best adblocker] to treat youtube's shorts icon as an ad

Implementing a Fix

I am a long term user of brave, and I knew that brave's inbuilt adblocker uses a lot of similar components of ublock origin...

so I went ahead to brave://adblock
Image description

and copy-pasted the following into custom filters

! Hide Reels Icon Desktop
instagram.com##a[href="/reels/"]:upward(3)

! Hide Reels Icon Mobile
instagram.com##a[href="/reels/"]
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

my instagram through brave didn't have the reels icon
gta

for a filter list to completely remove shorts copy-paste > this list

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
emilmarian profile image
emil marian

I appreciate your effort and also the fact of aknwoeldging a common problem. Not that I did a market share research of brave user base, but I:m pretty skeptical of a user base that uses Instagram on Beave browser on a mobile.
You could add (brave) in the title otherwise, I find this as kinf of a click-bait article.