DEV Community

Luke Petschauer
Luke Petschauer

Posted on

Who Are the Career Switchers' Role Models?

The other day, Dan Abramov tweeted this in a thread about intentional inclusion:

'When you just enter the industry, it's important to have role models. People you look up and can relate to. "I wanna be like X". I've had my share of role models who showed what was possible and who I could become.'

I started thinking. There's no one at my work I know of who's come from a similar background as me. I can see what career progression looks like for all the devs with CS degrees, but I don't know what it looks like for someone who switched careers to engineering after being mid or senior level in another field.

Who are the people that career switchers can look up to and say "That person did it, so can I"?

Top comments (0)