DEV Community

Lyn Chen πŸ¦„
Lyn Chen πŸ¦„

Posted on

Introducing Wrap.sh - an internal hackathon project

Hey DEV Community!Some of the coolest people I've met were through university hackathons. It was always a great way to take a break from school/work, get to know others, and come up with interesting ideas to hard problems. I remember discovering my love for Awake Chocolate, learning new tools and pitching nervously the next day. What I loved most about these events is that no matter who won, everyone felt that they contributed and made something worth sharing.

Unfortunately, I hadn't worked at a workplace before LayerCI where experimentation was so engrained into the company DNA. Why did we ever stop making things together and instead only go to engineering conferences? Smack in the middle of the pandemic, our team decided to do an internal hackathon together and the results were awesome.I remember discovering my love for Awake Chocolate, learning new tools and pitching nervously the next day. What I loved most about these events is that no matter who won, everyone felt that they contributed and made something worth sharing.

Unfortunately, I hadn't worked at a workplace before LayerCI where experimentation was so engrained into the company DNA. Why did we ever stop making things together and instead only go to engineering conferences? Smack in the middle of the pandemic, our team decided to do an internal hackathon together and the results were awesome.

Our very first open source project was born!

I'm excited to share the winning, internal hackathon project idea my teammate Dmitri on the engineering team led - it's a bash script that can be installed with anyone's CI to create preview environments without having to spend the engineering hours building it yourself.

Try for free here: https://wrap.sh/

Below is a high level overview on the experience. Feel free to try it out and let us know what you think at hello@wrap.sh

Alt Text

Alt Text

Top comments (0)