DEV Community

Cover image for 5 Min Series - Prompting
Lynn Langit
Lynn Langit

Posted on

5 Min Series - Prompting

I've started a YouTube series "5+ min of My GPT". In this series I am creating short screencasts of me trying out various prompting techniques on ChatGPT, customGPTs and more.

I've been using ChatGPT and other genAI tools for over a year now and they've changed the way I do my technical work and research. Before I explore the OpenAI Assistants API, I want to 'go deep' into what can be done in ChatGPT web UI.

So far I've looked at the following:

  • Creating, testing and updating multiple custom GPTs in the ChatGPT web UI
  • Using multiple plugins to improve the quality of responses
  • Prompt engineering techniques such as setting context, specifying output, chaining and others.

In addition to the 10 short screencasts I've made already, I am looking to explore/collaborate with others who are learning in this space. I feel like the dev community headed directly to RAG patterns (i.e. embeddings and vector DBs) and skipped deep diving into understanding the nuances of prompt engineering.

I welcome feedback and requests for topics in my expanding series.

Here's a screenshot which shows the currently available videos.
Image description

My YouTube playlist is here.

I am interested in hearing from the Dev.to audience.

  • What is your experience with ChatGPT?
  • Which ChatGPT features are you using/learning in your technical work?

I am looking forward to reading comments in response to this post.

Top comments (0)