DEV Community

Cover image for How to add tasks to Things from Android
Miguel Piedrafita
Miguel Piedrafita

Posted on • Originally published at miguelpiedrafita.com on

How to add tasks to Things from Android

I started using Things a few days ago. It's an awesome task manager app whose only downside is that it is only available on iOS devices. This is a problem for me because, while I use a Mac on my day-to-day, I'm also an Android user. The only workaround offered is an email address you can send tasks to. This might be enough for some people, but I wanted a better experience, so I decided to build something.

How to add tasks to Things from Android
Here's how the app looks once you install it.

Introducing Send to Things, a self-hosted Progressive Web App (PWA) that allows you to add tasks to Things from your Android phone, Chromebook, Nintendo 3DS and probably anywhere else a browser is available.

The app itself is really simple, once you click the Add to Things button, a Lambda function sends an email to your Mail to Things address, which then adds the task to your list.

Want to get started? Visit the GitHub repository and follow the instructions to get started. If you get stuck, feel free to email me and I'll be happy to help. You can also support me on Patreon if this project is useful to you 😁

Top comments (0)