DEV Community

Cover image for The benefits and challenges of being a freelancing web developer
Maduki-tech
Maduki-tech

Posted on

The benefits and challenges of being a freelancing web developer

Benefits

I've been freelancing for one year now and I mainly use Fiverr to get gigs and clients to notice me. In this one year of freelance work on Fiverr, I've only acquired 10 clients. This may not be as many as some people promise, but the potential I've seen is immense. One of the main benefits of freelancing is the ability to work from home, on projects you want to work on, and manage your own time.

Recently, I landed a new client who accepted my offer of $30 per hour, which is twice the amount I earn at my current full-time job. With the right expertise and negotiation skills, you can earn significant amounts of money as a freelancer.

Another benefit I've noticed is the opportunity to learn about new technologies, especially if you are interested in them. For example, I am currently working on creating an add-in for Microsoft Outlook, something I never thought I would do.

Challenges

The biggest challenge as a freelancer is acquiring new clients. Relying solely on one platform like Fiverr is not effective in this regard. You need to expand your reach everywhere and anywhere you can.

There are numerous freelancing platforms available, such as Fiverr, Upwork, and Freelancer.com. However, it's important to note that it takes time and effort to acquire clients on these platforms. You need to have a good SEO strategy on Fiverr, for example, to get clients to notice you.

Goals

My goal for 2023 is to expand my reach as a developer and acquire more clients to work with. This way, I can grow my knowledge about technology and potentially create my own company one day, to solve business problems and make people's lives easier. I'm not the type of person who wants to work for a large company like FAANG, I want to be my own boss and do what I want to do.

Top comments (0)