DEV Community

Cover image for What are your thoughts on Web 3.0?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are your thoughts on Web 3.0?

Web 3.0 is the 3rd gen of internet services that will focus on using a machine-based understanding of data to provide a data-driven web.

The tech community on social media has has created a buzz about it. Some do see it as a future while some are making memes out of it:

What are your thoughts on it? 👇

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Blockchain in most cases still feels like a solution looking for a problem

Collapse
 
jayjeckel profile image
Jay Jeckel

Web 2.0 was never anything more than a buzzword used by marketers and a joke the rest of us made at their expense. It seems the latest round of buzzword slingers (BLOCKCHAIN! NTF! DECENTRALIZED!) never got the memo and mistakenly think "Web 3.0" actually means something.

Collapse
 
jcubic profile image
Jakub T. Jankiewicz

Web 3.0 is a buzzword. I would not use it. Also before block chain Web 3.0 was refered to semantic web. Some people use term Internet 3.0. I think it's confusing as hell and I would not use that term at all.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I feel that too, the more I search, the more memes I see 😄😄

Collapse
 
saulodias profile image
Saulo Dias

Sounds too beta for me. I'll stick to Web 2.7 for now.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Hahah, so you are on the meme side 😀😀

Collapse
 
chuniversiteit profile image
Chun Fei Lung

Where did this come from? I remember joking about the death of Web 3.0… ten years ago. 🙈

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Never say never, I guess 😀😀